Willamette Announces Inductees for 2018 Hall of Fame Ceremony on Oct. 12

Willamette Announces Inductees for 2018 Hall of Fame Ceremony on Oct. 12

By Robert McKinney, Assistant Athletics Director, Communications

SALEM, Ore. -- The list of inductees for the Willamette University Athletic Hall of Fame Class of 2018 has been announced by Director of Athletics Rob Passage. The induction ceremony will be held on Friday, Oct. 12 at the Cat Cavern on the Willamette campus starting at 6:30 p.m. (PDT).

It will be the second consecutive induction class with several new members recommended by the Legends Committee of the Hall of the Fame. The Legends Committee considers possible inductees who completed their Willamette athletic careers at least 25 years ago. Several of this year's inductees graduated more than seversal decades ago, but have not yet been included in the Hall of Fame.

The Class of 2018 includes the squads in men's team handball for the 1974 and 1975 seasons that won back-to-back national titles. Sarah Zerzan '08, who won two NCAA Division III national titles (2006, 2007), was chosen for induction in her first year of eligiblity for the Athletic Hall of Fame.

Here is this year's list of inductees:


Dwight Adams '33*
Football, Basketball, Baseball

Gerald "Jiggs" Burnett, Jr. '63
Football, Baseball

Lea Bush '90
Track and Field, Basketball

Ed Cardinal '31*
Football, Basketball, Baseball

Marv Cisneros '61*

Mike Coleman '73

Leslie (Wilday) Deuster '86

Jean Fisher '79, JD '85
Tennis, Badminton, Golf, Bowling

Bob Hall '52
Football, Track and Field

Gerry Preston '87
Football, Baseball

Rob Roy '61
Track and Field

Nate Matlock '05
Football, Track and Field

Alicia (Wright) Scanlan '96

Jake Stout '04
Cross Country, Track and Field

Sarah Zerzan '08
Cross Country, Track and Field

Anne (Merten) Cannon '04

* Posthumous inductions


Skip Kenitzer
Head Men's and Women's Swimming Coach, 1993-98; Co-Head Coach, 1998-2001


Sam Lapray '87


1974 and 1975 Team Handball